Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got 4800 miles on the roadmaster..I love this bike. But started hearing a noise that sounded like maybe i had gotten bad gas... you know that pinging noise when fuel isnt burning clean.... added octane bust.. No help. Ran all the gas out to about 20 miles to empty refueled...No help.. oil level good 880 miles until next oil change. set up appointment with indian dealer.. the ride over clinking, clanking, clacking, pinging ..
WTF
Now the wait begins
I know some had clacking noise, but this can't be what y'all are talking about...Being a auto tech i couldn't and wouldn't drive something sounding like this.
Sounds like lifters and connection rods wrist pins nose or crank shaft bearings
I don't drive this thing hard...

·
Registered
60 Posts
Just got 4800 miles on the roadmaster..I love this bike. But started hearing a noise that sounded like maybe i had gotten bad gas... you know that pinging noise when fuel isnt burning clean.... added octane bust.. No help. Ran all the gas out to about 20 miles to empty refueled...No help.. oil level good 880 miles until next oil change. set up appointment with indian dealer.. the ride over clinking, clanking, clacking, pinging ..
WTF
Now the wait begins
I know some had clacking noise, but this can't be what y'all are talking about...Being a auto tech i couldn't and wouldn't drive something sounding like this.