Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I know this question has been asked many times, but I’m asking as some owners like to add their experiences.
I’m new to Indian and looking at buying a 2015 Scout with 8800 miles. It’s 3 hours away from me so I haven’t seen anything but pics. Bonus is the seller is wanting $5500 for it.
My concern, as with any brand I’m looking at buying, is first year issues plus I’ve been reading a lot about oil leaks from the stator and valve covers of newer years.
Is this a bike I should maybe look away and focus on a newer model?
Thanks!

·
Registered
43 Posts
I bought a used 15 with 8600 miles in March. I had to replace the oil sensor - it was leaking like crazy, and they had to rewire the rear turn signals because the tire rubs through them (it's a known issue).
Besides that, I've had almost no issues that weren't operator error.
I'm up to 14300 miles, with the long trips being 250, 40 and 640 in a day with no problems.
I cushioned the seat with an Airhwak until I sent mine in to get repadded.
I've found my bike to be reliable and fun as hell to ride, both commute and longer trips.
20200815_185529_076.jpg

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought a used 15 with 8600 miles in March. I had to replace the oil sensor - it was leaking like crazy, and they had to rewire the rear turn signals because the tire rubs through them (it's a known issue).
Besides that, I've had almost no issues that weren't operator error.
I'm up to 14300 miles, with the long trips being 250, 40 and 640 in a day with no problems.
I cushioned the seat with an Airhwak until I sent mine in to get repadded.
I've found my bike to be reliable and fun as hell to ride, both commute and longer trips.
View attachment 605018
Looks identical to the one I’m looking at buying. Same setup.

·
Silver member
4,971 Posts