Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The scout is running great and actually has a working speedo,
the issue is first gear. When I try to engage it rattles sometimes and takes seconds to catch,
if I whack it good from a stop it usuals engages but not always. I have no experience with these motors or trannies, is something out of adjustment? Any suggestions?

·
Registered
164 Posts
How much free play is in your clutch cable? is the idle speed too fast?
My buddy used to have a T shirt that said " Norton Motorcycles - Turns ordinary men into mechanics" :giggle:
Gilroys are probably similar. Not that it's a bad thing.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I found the Gilroy scout manual on line, thanks I’ll check the clutch cable free play. I’m pretty handy but my diagnostic skills suck. It does seem to idle a bit fast when warmed up, once again I done have a point of reference with this motor.

·
Silver member
4,898 Posts
Ideally, you want to idle it at about 950-1000 rpm. Many like to drop them to 750-800 to get that loping sound, but that is hard on the bottom end, lowers the oil pressure at idol, and makes it a dog off the line...

Reactions: Moto_Max

·
Registered
164 Posts
Lot's of times when the idle is too fast when it's hot there's an air leak at the intake or carb mount. It also wouldn't hurt to disconnect the clutch cable and make sure that it slides freely in it's jacket and isn't bound up

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the info, I needed a starting point. Hopefully hit the garage this weekend.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It looks like the clutch needs an adjustment, just ordered the gasket from Indian Moto,
thanks for the help.

·
Silver member
4,898 Posts